

PRESENT

Members:

Councillor Peta Pinson (Mayor) Councillor Lisa Intemann (Deputy Mayor) Councillor Rob Turner Councillor Sharon Griffiths Councillor Geoff Hawkins

Other Attendees:

Chief Executive Officer (Dr Clare Allen) Director Corporate Performance (Rebecca Olsen) Director Development and Environment (Melissa Watkins) Director Strategy and Growth (Jeffery Sharp) Group Manager Governance (Michael Ferguson) Governance Support Officer (Bronwyn Lyon)

> This meeting was held remotely and electronically through Skype and is live streamed on Council's YouTube channel. The meeting opened at 4:01pm.

01 ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF COUNTRY

The Mayor opened the Meeting with an Acknowledgement of Country and welcomed all in attendance on line.

02 APOLOGIES

RESOLVED: Intemann/Griffiths

That the apology received from Councillor Alley be accepted.

CARRIED: 5/0 FOR: Griffiths, Hawkins, Intemann, Pinson and Turner AGAINST: Nil

03 DISCLOSURES OF INTEREST

There were no disclosures of interest presented.



04.01 RELIEF MEASURES FOR FLOOD AND STORM IMPACTED RESIDENTS

RESOLVED: Hawkins/Intemann

That Council:

- 1. Note the provisions included in Council's Rates and Charges Hardship Assistance Policy for property owners who have had a house, facility or outbuilding determined by the responsible government agency to be destroyed or damaged as a result of a natural disaster.
- 2. Waive the fees and charges as detailed in this report, in relation to owners of properties and local businesses which have been damaged or destroyed in the March 2021 Flood and Storm Emergency. These fees and charges include:
 - a) Interest on rates and charges.
 - b) Direct debit dishonour fees.
 - c) Tipping fees for local government area residents and businesses' flood damaged waste, including building materials, furniture, fittings, personal items at Council's waste transfer stations as at 22 March 2021.
 - d) Fees for bulk kerbside collection of flood damaged waste for local government area residents.
 - e) Relevant Council fees and charges associated with building / construction.
 - f) Fees for food shop inspections.
 - g) Fees for public health inspections.
 - h) Animal impound and maintenance fees
 - i) Fees to alter an existing sewerage management facility under section 68.
 - j) Licence fees / application fees for activities on Council-managed land.
 - k) Fees for the use of the Innovation Hub.
 - I) Road Occupation fees under Section 138 for clean-up purposes.
- 3. Delegate approval to the Chief Executive Officer to enter into a formal agreement with an eligible applicant to repay outstanding rates and charges by periodical payments on a payment arrangement, where the applicant is the owner of a property which has been damaged or destroyed in the March 2021 Flood and Storm Emergency.
- 4. Extend the above Rates and Charges provisions to non-residential property owners.
- 5. Request the Chief Executive Officer to consider contacting the Chairs of the Sub-working Groups of the COVID-19 Recovery Working Group, for their assistance in a community-led recovery.
- 6. Note that contact has been made with BlazeAid regarding their possible assistance, especially in terms of repairing fences destroyed during this disaster event.



- Congratulates the Chief Executive Officer, Directors and staff in moving quickly and decisively to enact Council's Business Continuity (Emergency) Plan and also for working seamlessly with multiple State, Federal and other agencies to implement significant support initiatives for our community.
- 8. Request the Chief Executive Officer to urgently contact the Federal members, Dr David Gillespie MP, Federal Member for Lyne and Mr Pat Conaghan MP, Federal Member for Cowper, to request immediate deployment of Australian Defence Force personnel to specific areas of concern in our region to assist with clean-up and recovery.
- 9. Request the Chief Executive Officer to provide an update report on this matter to the June 2021 Ordinary Council meeting.

CARRIED: 5/0 FOR: Griffiths, Hawkins, Intemann, Pinson and Turner AGAINST: Nil

The meeting closed at 4:25pm.

Peta Pinson

Mayor